Behind the Scenes: His Contract Bride

Going in chronological order of books I have available, I’m starting with His Contract Bride.

Warning: Spoilers Throughout

Why I wrote it?

This book was the second book I wrote due to reader demand. Originally, I had no plans to ever “go back in time” beyond what I already was doing by writing in the Regency era anyway. If anything, I’d go forward and write about the sons and daughters of characters. But, demand for more Edward after Her Sudden Groom prompted me to consider the possibility.

First, I decided to run a poll on my website about it and the majority of votes were favorable. But I still wasn’t convinced…

Then when I started looking for something else to write while my current project was put on hold, I started thinking about it more seriously. And as soon as I wrote out the first paragraph, I knew I had to finish it, if for no other reason that I needed to know how things turned out.

What do I like about it?

I know this isn’t what is considered my most adventurous or action-packed book, but it’s actually one of my favorites. The hero and heroine had both been mentioned before in other books, but almost in passing only. Sure, Edward had had a few scenes in Sudden, but we really didn’t see him and his wife interact. At least not in a way that showed whether they loved or hated each other.

Because Alex suffered with the inability to determine facial expressions and tones, and often saw things just as they were without seeing the meaning or effect of one’s words or actions, we really don’t know what kind of relationship they really had. Edwina was little better. With her having gone away to London for many years, and Edward having passed before she reached her majority and had returned home, it’s hard to know what she saw of her parents together.

So this was finally a chance for those of us not privy to Edwina’s childhood to get a glimpse at what her parents were like.

In short: it gave me a chance to fulfill my nosiness and figure out what these two were really like together since neither of their children (so far) had given us any real clues.

What I might have done differently if I had the chance?

Unfortunately, I don’t know on this one. Give me time and let me write a few more books and I’ll have something, I’m sure.

What came from “real life”?

  • My own husband and I were more “friends” than anything we got married.
  • The canoe tipping came from a near-tip my family encountered this past summer when we were in a canoe and my five year old announced he needed to pee, then just stood up in the boat and started jumping around as if that would help him get to the shore faster. As I was trying to keep the boat steady, in the back of my mind, I couldn’t help but wonder, “What if?”
  • The scary/graphic wax figure came from last summer we were in Pigeon Forge, TN and the lady advised us not to take our boys into the wax museum because of the scary wax sculptures.
  • Edward making Regina the automata at the end was a variation of how my husband is. He’s a woodworker and has often carved me things or made me gifts, i.e. The Kissing Stool from last year.
  • Regina’s “instant love” was a direct reflection of me, I’m afraid. When I first met Bob, I was in my final year of high school and as soon as I saw him, I just knew. I was dating someone else, however, but I just knew I was really in love with Bob.
  • Regina’s friendship with the former Lady Sinclair (Marcus’ mother) is how I really feel about my relationship with a “friend” of mine who my husband really wants me to be friends with because he’s friends with her husband. Needless to say, we don’t like each other very well. As a disclaimer, I need to say, her personality is NOT how I described Lady Sinclair’s, neither are her looks, it’s just how I feel about our friendship: forced and extremely uncomfortable.

What running ties does His Contract Bride have with the other books I’ve written?

  • Intentions of the Earl:
    The decorator of atrocious drawing room that Brooke convinces Andrew she decorated is finally revealed; as are the reasons why it was decorated that way and left in that horrid condition
  • Liberty for Paul
    Edward’s first real appearance was during this book in which his loose tongue shocked a room–no direct mention in Contract, but many more blunt statements
  • Her Sudden Groom:
    The night of Edward’s death, Alex goes off into his father’s study and remembers when his father helped him make an automata
    Caroline tells Edward that Alex is a good pall mall player–to which he immediately instructs his wife to order her gruel for dinner–the reason for this strange request is founded in this book
    The Society of Biological Matters is formed which is the same Society that Alex had Caroline removed from and Edward wrote a letter to the president (or President-Extraordinare as Caroline calls him) of
    Regina tells Caroline she used to play lawn chess with Caroline’s aunt and uncle (the former Lord and Lady Sinclair)
    The betrothal agreement between Alex and Olivia is brought up and explained at the end of Contract
  • Her Reluctant Groom:
    Marcus explains to Emma how much of a “Holy Willie” his father was, we finally meet the man and find out why in Contract
  • His Yankee Bride
     John, the hero’s brother plays an overlapping role, and likewise, Edward shows up in John’s book, ready to scandalize anyone in his path
  • This could be for any book that features Lady O, but in Contract, we meet her mother… Between her father’s inability to stand up to his wife and her mother’s selfish, petty demeanor, it’s no wonder Lady O is such a shrew.

 

I think that’s all. If there’s something you wanted to know, please feel free to ask in the comment section.

10 comments on “Behind the Scenes: His Contract Bride

  1. Judy DV says:

    I know that wax museum in Pigeon Forge! We lived in Maryville, Tennessee. We didn’t have much money but when my sister came to visit, she and I went up in the Mountains to see some of the sights I usually didn’t have the time or money for. Very realistic.
    We lived there during the 1982 Worlds Fair (before most of you were born I’m sure!)

  2. You know I’m going to have to read all these books now, don’t you? ;)

  3. Sarah R. says:

    I am so happy you wrote this book. I L.O.V.E.D. Edward in Sudden and when I finished reading all your books and discovered your website back in February I was so excited to see that you were contemplating writing his and Regina’s love story. I was NOT disappointed. I know I just emailed you about this recently but it is really one of my most favorite stories because it is just a sweet, sweet story with no big “wrench” thrown into it. I remember reading it the first time and smiling almost the whole time through it. Sometimes you just need a story without all the drama.

    I also have had to endure those relationships with wives of my husband’s friends. Thankfully none like Lady Sinclair.

    Judy, I was a whopping 6 years old in 1982 but I was alive.

    And as I wrote on FB, I love the new banner/header.

    • Rose Gordon says:

      It’s one of my favorites, too, and probably because it doesn’t have a lot of drama. There’s only a minimal misunderstand and it’s discovered pretty early on. I also like that neither are really “that” flawed or abnormal, they’re just two people who have an arranged marriage who fall in love. For as often as I bend the rules of what might have really happened in a historical sense, that’s probably one of my most historically accurate books in a romance sense.

      In their time period, the majority of marriages were arranged and they either had to learn to tolerate each other long enough to continue the line, or perhaps actually fall in love.

  4. Karen says:

    Rose I love these behind the scenes post. I may have to go back and reread Contract. And Im with Sarah that sometimes you just need a book without all the drama.

Share your thoughts--I'd love to hear them!

