As the days get closer…

January is already half over and I am nearly in shock. That just means we’re almost to that time when I have to say farewell to a story that’s been kept private and let it into the hands of the masses.

This is both a very exciting and nerve-wracking thing for authors. While it’s thrilling that our “baby” will finally be let loose and the demands from excited readers will stop (only temporarily as soon they will once again start demanding the next book), it can also be nerve-wracking. Is the story just right? Will my true fans and loyal readers (you know, the ones you write for not the cynics) love it as much as the last? Is the story compelling? Will everyone fall as madly in love with the hero as I did?

Well, the honest-to-goodness truth is, I’ll never really know the answer to all of these questions, BUT you have the opportunity to form an early opinion!

1. eARCs (electronic advanced review copies) will be available for request starting Friday.*

2. Win it before you can buy it opportunity is available by commenting on a recent interview I did: http://www.girl-who-reads.com/2013/01/meet-author-rose-gordon.html  (Please note, you do not need to gush or make a list of flattering remarks about me or my books, just a simple comment will do! Be sure to let me know here or on my Facebook page that you did this and your name will be entered into the drawing. Since the book in question is a digital copy, this opportunity is open internationally.)

3. As promised, I have an updated blurb for His Jilted Bride:

It’s her wedding day and there is no groom in sight. But why should Amelia Brice be surprised? Hiram, Lord Friar is known for having no gentleman’s honor to speak of and his jilting her on their wedding day makes it official.

Elijah Banks cannot allow his childhood friend to continue to be shamed this way. It’s been almost an hour past the time when the wedding was to start, and that bounder still hasn’t shown up. Unable to sit still a second longer, Elijah does the only thing that seems logical from where he stands: kidnap the bride and marry her himself in order to escape this scandal with one far more forgiving for a young lady’s reputation.

The only trouble is, she has a secret…but so does he; hers is big…but his is bigger.

4. As tradition demands, I’ll be posting Mr. Gordon’s oh-so-helpful editorial suggestions soon. And maybe even a sample chapter…

Enjoy your day!

*Requesting an eARC does not guarantee it will be granted. Please email me if you’d like to request an eARC to review.

25 comments on “As the days get closer…

  1. Karen says:

    Calmly raise hand and ask for an eARC please.

    • Sarah R. says:

      Karen, It isn’t Friday yet.

      • Karen Miller says:

        I know but given my work schedule I wanted to make sure I got my request in.
        *continues to hold hand calmly in air*

      • Sarah R. says:

        Your poor arm is going to be awfully tired come Friday. I hope your calm hand raising pays off.

      • Karen Miller says:

        Sarah considering I’m working like 16 hours tomorrow doing inventory I’m gong to be awfully tired regardless. But having a new book to relax with would be nice. *tires to look as innocent as possible after that shamless hint*

      • Rose Gordon says:

        Shameless is right! Good grief, why didn’t you just start your comment with, “Pack your bags, Rose, we’re going on a guilt trip!” LOL I’m only kidding and if it wasn’t your little jab about making me faint, I wouldn’t have said that (at least not publicly!). All I can say is, we shall see!

        As for the fainting comment, I do believe I used the word swoon, and we both know why! I will say, however, I reread what I consider to be one of the most powerful scenes in that book (the one you-know-who first appeared in) and was choked up with emotion. I just cannot fathom why you were not more drawn to that book like a sugar ant to a Swiss Roll. LOL

      • Karen Miller says:

        I stand corrected you did use the word swoon.

    • Rose Gordon says:

      I almost choked on my water. Karen, you are one of the most…er…shall we say vocal readers I have about upcoming books. (And I like it!) Just the mental image of you being calm cracked me up.

  2. Sarah R. says:

    I am very excited that the new book is almost ready. Love the new “Blurb” and can’t wait to find out what their secrets are.

  3. Readsalot81 says:

    That’s terrific Rose, I’m so excited to hear the release date is getting closer!! :) Well, I’ll throw my hat into the ring for the e-arc when Friday rolls around.. Woohooo! @ the upcoming post from Mr. Gordon.

  4. Readsalot81 says:

    I merely said I would throw my hat into the ring when Friday came around.. I don’t recall stating “Please give me one”.. That is your interpretation. *shrug*

  5. Fatna says:

    Hi Rose!
    I’d like to be entered to receive an eARC please!! I can’t wait to see what this secret is! I’m sure it’s going to be great just like all your other books.

  6. Amanda says:

    I would love an eARC please.

  7. Rose Gordon says:

    There may have been some confusion regarding the eARCs. What I’d meant was advanced review copies would be available beginning Friday for book bloggers or reviewers.

    As it is, they are not ready for the masses in the form of an advanced reader’s copy, yet, as the book is currently being proofed and cleansed of my were/was and comma and semicolon errors and other possible typos.

    If you are a reviewer who’d like to request a copy, please, email me personally and we’ll chat. If you’re strictly a reader, I’ll try to come up with another win it before you can buy it opportunity.

    I do apologize if this was confusing to anyone, I’ll try to be more clear in the future (see, this is why I have a proofreader, she helps me be more clear!).

  8. Jeanne Miro says:

    Rose -

    I loved your interview and it was wonderful to find out more about you and your family! My grandson has MS so I send my thanks for you and your husband supporting the cause to support them.

    Sorry I got around to posting my comment so late but hope you had many readers join us in trying and falling in love with your wonderful stories!

    • Rose Gordon says:

      Jeanne,

      Thanks so much for sharing that! I don’t personally know anyone with MS, so when we were asked who we were riding for, we really couldn’t say, just “everyone”. Actually, I ran a sale on one of my books over the summer and donated all the proceeds to MS, so if you bought a book around then, you helped, too, and didn’t even know it!

  9. Bethany says:

    Hi Rose, I’ve never commented before but I am a follower finding it difficult to wait for the next book! I would love an eARC. Thank you

Share your thoughts--I'd love to hear them!

