Something Not-So-New Sunday

My Something New Sunday post today has been moved to next week due to technical difficulties, or in other words, I was going to present something myself, but my husband didn’t realize I was saving a  particular item and tossed it in the trash, so now I have to wait until my kids go through another jar of jelly.

So…instead I’m going to do some updates (those are new, aren’t they), answer a few reader questions (hopefully one or two will be new), and announce winners (and this WILL be new). So it all works out:

Updates:

  • Exciting news! I have found another narrator for two of my audiobooks. The one doing Her Sudden Groom cannot start until later this month, and the one one who is doing the audio for His Contract Bride has already begun, and we should have a book the first half of March!
  • More exciting news: His Brother’s Bride is coming along very, very well. I’ll have no difficulty, barring any sort of extreme, having it out in April.
  • I am still accepting donations for libraries. In fact, I have now made a page for it on my blog where I’ve listed all 50 states and have put a link to every library that I have sent books to. (Note: the link went up the day the books were mailed, if the library chooses not to accept the books or they have not been processed yet, they will not show up in the catalog, so give them a few weeks.) If you’d like your library to be included, even if I’ve already sent books to your state, please email me with the name of the library system and I’ll see what I can do.
  • Even more exciting news (but probably only for me)! While putting up the links to where my books are available in libraries, I got snoopy. I’ll admit it, I snoop around on things and already two library systems have my books available for checkout: Bartlesville Public Library in Bartlesville, Oklahoma and Tulsa City County Library in Tulsa, Oklahoma. And it gets even better, one of the books was already checked out from the Tulsa library! Sounds silly, but for me it was totally cool! Thanks, Tulsa. In all fairness, I did send both of these libraries in December so they had a head start.
  • Still taking submissions for guest posts. If you have something interesting you’d like to talk about, a craft to share, or just want to be a star for a day, I’d love to have you on. I’m trying not to make it so inane on here, so since variety is the spice of life, I’d love to feature something unusual or fascinating on here.  Just email me or use the form on the page dedicated to this and we’ll schedule you a day!

Reader Questions:

  • Does His Jilted Bride pick up where Her Imperfect Groom ended? Yes and no. It’s a year later, and nothing crucial has happened in between the times. So in other words, no it is not necessary to have read His Contract Bride or His Yankee Bride first.
  • Will Henry get a story, if so, when? Henry will be the hero in His Brother’s Bride due out in April, 2013.
  • Can Jack, Emma and Marcus’ adopted son, inherit his title, he technically is a male. No. Jack was the son of a daughter of the title, heirs have to be sons of heirs. If Marcus had had a brother, then his brother would have inherited first upon Marcus’ death, then his brother’s son after Marcus’ brother died. Or if Marcus’ brother died before Marcus, it would go straight to Marcus’ nephew at his passing. The title cannot pass to a female, so her children out out. I suppose Marcus and Emma could have tried to lie about the parentage, and being recluses it might have worked except for two things: 1. Emma was seen for a few weeks in London during the Season–this wouldn’t have happened if she were pregnant. 2. While both a bit scandalous and ready to bend rules, neither of them were just outright liars or deceitful. Could they have pulled something like that off? Possibly, if they had the help of friends, but this never entreated the equation. They were flawed characters, to be sure, just not THAT flawed.
  • Why did X happen or X not happen in His Jilted Bride? I’ll be glad to answer all questions about this title privately now and will post any questions (with answers) publicly a month after the book has been available. I try not to give out too many spoilers as I realize there are still some people who have not read any of my books and would like to be surprised, but I also realize there are some with questions and it’s easier to answer them publicly so if anyone else has the question, they don’t have to wonder forever or email me if they don’t wish. I prefer to wait to answer publicly to give everyone who might happen by a fair chance to read the book first.
  • When will X book be out? Frankly, your guess is often as good as mine. I don’t have any control over that, other than how fast I type–and even that can be a challenge with kids and a family. I can only give estimates, and even those aren’t always guaranteed. I, do, however, have a mailing list you can sign up for that will email you automatically when a new book is available. It also provides direct links to many of the eBookstores for a convenient way to find the book. A sign up form is located at the top right corner of my blog and I have two on my website–on the home page and on the “Book” page. If you cannot get the form to work, email me personally. Believe it or not, I do respond (unless it goes to the Junk folder, then I might miss it…) and I can manually add your name to the list.
  • Will you autograph a book for me? Absolutely. The easiest way to do this is to order a book from me here at my website. All books come from me personally and will be signed/personalized. The second best way is to meet me in person! Unfortunately, that’s not a very likely possibility as I am more socially awkward than Alex and Wallace combined and hate going out in public. You can also mail me a copy of your already purchased book and I’d be happy to sign and return it.

That’s all–I think. If you have a question, please feel free to ask. There are NO stupid questions. None.

And now for the giveaway winners from the Sober Stupidity post…

1. Linda S. Merrill

2. Lauralynn Elliott

3. Moonprincess 111

Congrats, ladies, I’ll be emailing you shortly!

6 comments on “Something Not-So-New Sunday

  1. Sarah R. says:

    First congrats to the winners.

    Second I like the idea of the Star of the Day. Kind of like in school when you got to be kid of the week and bring in stuff all about you. We could do Reader of the Week. LOL.

    How fun about your book being checked out of the library.

    • Rose Gordon says:

      I have a guest coming this Sunday, but if YOU’D like to be the star for the next Sunday, I can pencil that in!

      I was really excited about having my books checked out. I know it sounds silly, but I was excited.

  2. Yay, I won! I’m like a kid about stuff like that. LOL

    You know, I can’t even remember to give the library in my OWN town copies of my books. *smacks forehead*.Sometimes I get print book sales from “expanded distribution” through CreateSpace. I wish I could tell if the sales are to libraries or other book sellers.

  3. Rose, you know I love your books and can’t wait for the new ones. Thank you for picking my name/story. Hubby just went to bed or I’d be in there telling him it paid off for me to take the kids to school in my jammies. LOL

    As far as spoilers go, personally I love them. But, if anyone has seen any of my reviews on Amazon, Good Reads, B&N, you will notice I don’t give ANYTHING away. I know too many people who don’t like spoilers, so when I do reviews, I talk about the emotions the book brought out in me. And for those who haven’t seen my reviews I will tell you I read all 4 books in the Groom series like one big book. Although each stands alone, I couldn’t get enough of those silly grooms.

    And Rose, just so you know, I will be going to the library tomorrow and letting them know the books are on their way and I WILL be the first to check them out. And I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you sending books to my little library. They don’t even have a paperback distributor anymore, so the only time they get paperbacks is when someone donates them.

    I to love the idea of “Reader of the Week” or Month. It’s a great way to get to know people. I know Romance Bandits do their version of the “Banditia of the Month”, and share the info in their monthly newsletter, and I enjoy reading about the people there. And I’m sure, here, like there, there are a core group of readers/fans who post on almost all blogs, so getting to know them is kind of nice. Of course they have something like 17 authors there and then do interviews with any other author they can grab. I need to tell them to grab you right before the new book comes out.

    Amy
    PS Thanks Again!!!!

    • Rose Gordon says:

      You’re very welcome! Thank you for sharing your fun story with us! This sounds awful, but I haven’t even heard of Romance Bandits… How awful is that?

      The same invitation is open to you. If you’d like to come on my blog and chat it up, I welcome you with open arms (and a date to post)!

Share your thoughts--I'd love to hear them!

