Guest Post: Thoughts on February

Today, I have a lady named Amy who often comments here with the screen name of Moonprincess and she wrote her thoughts on February and what today (Daylight Savings) means to her. So it is a bit past February, but we can all be thinking about next

I HATE FEBRUARY!!!!!!

Yep, it’s February, again and I’m all BLAHed out. I can think of only 5 good things that have ever happened in this month; Feb 14, 1985 we moved into our house…with all it’s headaches and “joy of home-ownership” trials and tribulations: Feb of 1961 my sister Catherine was born…I still haven’t decided if this was a good thing or bad thing though:Feb 22, 1962 my hubby was born….a good thing since if he weren’t born, I wouldn’t have met him: Feb 1970 my baby brother, Joseph was born, again, not sure if this was a good thing or bad thing (just kidding you 2, you know I love you!): Feb 2, 2002 my beautiful granddaughter, Chloe Morgan Anderson was born. This was and always will be a wondrous day for all of us who love her.

So, what good is this month? Heck, if the people I love and care about the most weren’t born in Feb they would have been born in a different month and even March is better than Feb! For a “short” month it sure is too long for me! I HATE the cold, I HATE the darkness, yes, I even HATE snow!!!! I have been reading a lot lately, so I guess that is one good thing, but it is the ONLY good thing.
And what the hell is “Valentine’s Day” suppose to mean to those of us that have been married for more than 5 or even 10 years? What a joke! My loving husband bought me a card and a $1 package of candy. Granted, he did get the candy I like, but it’s suppose to be a day of love and I guess that since he actually did remember what candy I’ve been snacking on for the last 14 months, he does love me. Either that or he was afraid that if he screwed this up we would be visiting Bruce (our attorney). Because it IS February and he knows by now that very little is “right” in my world, read BRAIN, during this month, he also knows anything is likely to happen…or not as the case my be. I guess he’s lucky I don’t drink since during this month I’d be finding my way to the bottoms of many bottles and not really caring if I found my way back out.
I know February is over, thank goodness, but March sure has popped in like a lion and I’m praying it goes out like a lamb! Also, since we are back on Daylight Savings time as of today, I can look foward to the longer, much lighter days of the next six months.
So, I ask again, what the heck is good about February?????? Comments anyone??
Thanks for submitting, Amy.
10 comments on “Guest Post: Thoughts on February

  1. Sarah R. says:

    Your thoughts on February are very similar to my thoughts on August. Since I live in an area where we have months upon months of 100+ degree days (we will be in the 90’s later this week)I always think of August as just another month of heat and it is also the month where we usually add some humidity to our otherwise dry heat. In my opinion the only good thing about August is that my boys go back to school. We don’t even have a birthday in August to look forward to.

    • Sarah, Last summer when it was 110, in the shade all summer long, I was the only person you wouu\ld find outside! I LOVE the heat, and the sunshine which brings it. I’m begging for those 90 degree temps already.

  2. Margery Williams says:

    February is a great month if you live in Florida. I do. July, August, and September are the worst months for me. This February the temperature and humidity were perfect, Now I know why so many Snowbirds travel to FL in the winter & stay “Up North” in the summer.
    So, I guess which month is worse depends on where you live. I always thought it wouldn’t matter “where” I lived because what really matters is “with” whom you live. Not where.

    • Well Margery (Mother), thank you for visiting today and your comments. But remember all those Christmases we both went to Ohio to be with Mom, and how every year we would both say, “Never coming at Christmas AGAIN?” Wish we could have been there together this year for Christmas. Even though we both the cold, we will ALWAYS love Mom.

  3. Sandy Kenny says:

    Thank you, Amy! You had the courage to write what I had been thinking for years! When you live in the north (Im in the northeast), by February you get mighty sick of the dark, the cold, and the freakin’ snow. My poor hubby goes entire days without seeing the sun in the winter. He leaves the house when it is dark, works in a windowless building all day, and comes home in the dark. And people wonder why he’s so cranky. I cannot wait for the weather to get warm enough for me to be able to get more exercise…walking/jogging in the snow really stinks…

  4. Karen Miller says:

    I agree with you on Feb. You have the let down after the holidays, its cold, and still dark when going and leaving work. And since I work in retail its all a pretty dead month at work. I’m glad spring is just around the corner, and even if I miss the hour of sleep, I’m glad to have the light later in the eveing now.

  5. I just wanted to say THANK YOU to Rose dor giving me this oppertunity. I do not have a blog of my own and other than just posting comments on other people’s blogs, I’ve never done anything like this. So, thank all of you for joining me and the comments, even if one was from my own Mother :)
    Amy aka moon_princess111

    • Rose Gordon says:

      You are SOOO welcome. Thank you for coming on. That’s what it’s all about: giving someone else a turn to take center stage, because heaven help us all, I’m not that entertaining.

Share your thoughts--I'd love to hear them!

