Editing Stage 3: A man’s perspective on romance…

I’ve never made it a secret that my husband has read all of my books. He has. (And he’s enjoyed them, too… Well, as much as he can considering they’re romance novels.)

It used to be that he’d wait until I was completely done with my edits before he’d start reading, but for the past two books, he’s “started early”. Once I hit the 2/3rd mark in my second round of edits, he starts getting antsy so I give him what I have, then by the time he’s ready for more, I’m done. It works out well because on Wednesday evening I gave him the first 70% then as he read that, I finished up the last 30%, then after he read that, I was able to input the changes all within 24 hours!

So what does my husband do exactly?

Well, he finds my typos:

“She ran her hand trough his hair huh, I thought only horses liked troughs…”

He finds my inconsistencies:

You refer to this person as a he in this paragraph and she in the one above. Which is it?

He points out what he thinks is too unbelievable–even for a romance novel:

This is corny…

…oh my, it just got worse…

…this is got to be the most unrealistic scene I’ve ever read.

He offers very helpful suggestions:

Maybe instead of having Carolina shrieking, she could just cry or sob, she sounds like a madwoman as it is

He calls me onto the carpet when I step over a line:

This is unnecessary. Anyone who reads this will close it right now. Since Sir Wallace has a thing for perfection, maybe he should knock a painting off the wall and gets banned from the museum…but this? This goes TOO far.

He gets confused, then blames it on me:

“I think you have your ladies mixed up…” No dear, that was you who got mixed up. LOL

He offers his sage advice on how we should all conduct ourselves based on what happens to the characters in the story:

So, the moral of this fine tale (so far) is not to drink the fruity punch (Sorry, I couldn’t post this one before now as I felt it gave away too much for the book, but since it’s been out three months now, I figure I’m safe around here to post it).

He gives me a man’s perspective:

It wouldn’t be a man’s eyes that widened if she kissed him like that, it’d be his–

He offers tips and pointers on “guy” pursuits:

Any good woodcarver would not hold the wood and knife that way or he might sever his finger. Instead, he needs to…blah, blah, blah

He tells me point blank if he’d be able to fall in love with such a heroine:

(in no particular order)

I think you just described yourself, how can I not like her?

Oh, this one’s kinky!

I think she’s my favorite

Well, at least she’s better than Liberty…

He, himself, gets ideas:

Why don’t we ever do this in the bedroom?

There are many other things he does, and while sometimes his comments are nothing more than amusing, he’s given me a lot of good advice. Shrieking/excessive crying isn’t attractive. Sir Wallace knocking a painting from the wall was a much better way of getting himself banned from the gallery. Men’s actions and reactions are important. I’ve read books where the men were too feminine. Sure, it’s great to have a beta hero who’ll open the door and care about his wife’s feelings, but you don’t want a guy who could easily be confused for a lady.

I then fix the typos and inconsistencies and then change any scene, characteristic, subplot, etc that I agree with my husband that the story will benefit from the change. This takes about three to four hours total depending on how many things are necessary to fix and the best way to do it.

Then, last night, it went off to the first paid editor… (This step takes a little longer, so it’ll be a while before I come back with details of that.)

I hope you all have a wonderful Friday and a really great weekend!

And see… that is why it’s ALWAYS important to proof things, I meant to hit preview and hit publish, thus saying that my husband was ready for me and not more (what an uncomfortable insinuation I made there), then I said I gassed him… I don’t even want to know where that came from. LOL If you can’t laugh at yourself, then you’re far too serious!

19 comments on “Editing Stage 3: A man’s perspective on romance…

  1. Sarah R. says:

    I love that you get your husband’s perspective. I don’t know that many husband’s would do that for their wives. Of course it brings us lots of laughs when you share some of his comments with us.

  2. Nikki S. says:

    What did Wallace originally do to get banned from the museum? I can’t not know now :)

  3. ki pha says:

    Aww that’s so sweet! But I can say it was weird having my older brother read my romance story (for my creative writing class). I didn’t give it to him, my sister-in-law did while helping me proof read and editing. They were great helps but I still need to work on it some more.

  4. Your husband sounds like a keeper, Rose–love a guy with a sense of humor. My husband was terrible at spelling and grammar, so he wasn’t a very good editor or proofreader, but sometimes he did come up with good ideas I could use. Too bad he wasn’t around to help with “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny” or “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless.” But I guess in a way he was because the hero of “Mr. TT&T” is a little like him.

    • Rose Gordon says:

      I’m sorry, Nancy. It must be hard to have lost a spouse, but it sounds like he was a fantastic guy while he was around.

      • Rose–he was the best! We were married for twenty-one years and dated for five years before that. The hero of “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless” is loosely based on him. But he’s more like Jimmy Morgan, the great-grandfather of Jonah Morgan, of my first book, “Tempting Jonah.” (which is now out of print). And my Jon was definitely tall, dark and funny.

      • Rose Gordon says:

        My Bob could certainly be described as: Tall, Tan…& Tactless.

  5. Tami says:

    I still think you should “publish” with Bob’s comments included! :)

  6. LOL, Rose! This cracks me up, and Tami, what a great idea!

  7. Okay so I have been out of things due to a hospital stay and am only now catching up on emails. To be honest I am not going in any particular order so yesterday I read about the purse and the ena-man. Good laugh, thank you. But, today while sitting in my classroom with students busy working (for once) I fell upon your husbands comment “He gives me a man’s perspective: It wouldn’t be a man’s eyes that widened if she kissed him like that, it’d be his–” and literally lost it out loud choking and coughing included. I do have a nasty cold but still it truly made my week. Of course the other teacher and kids just looked at me like I was off my rocker. I could have died due to your husbands humor and no one would have been the wiser.. On the other hand I don’t really sit on my rocker quiet straight as it is so falling off would be expected and not suprising.  

    • Rose Gordon says:

      Oh no! I hope you’re okay from your recent stay at the hospital.

      Oh Bob is hysterical with his bluntness, isn’t he? I about died laughing at that, too. I’m glad it gave you a hearty chuckle, too!

Share your thoughts--I'd love to hear them!

