10th Day of Christmas: What’s on the menu???

The winner of yesterday’s signed paperback is: Marlena!

12 Days of Christmas

Today’s random question for a chance to win a $100 gift card to Amazon or Barnes & Noble (and to get your name in the drawing for the Grand Prize) is:

What are you having for the big meal? Whether you do the big meal on the 24th or 25th, it doesn’t matter, just what are you making or being made to eat if you’re not the one cooking?

I have no idea what I’ll be eating on either of those days. We’re eating on Christmas Eve with my father-in-law and his wife’s family, then eating on Christmas day with his mother and her family. All I know is I’m supposed to bring a vegetarian loaf to each and that’s all I know.

So for as uninteresting as my menu is, I thought instead I’d post a Christmastime Regency recipe:

  • The English Royal Family’s Christmas Pudding
    • 1 ¼ ob. Suet 1 lb. Demerara (cane) sugar
    • 1 lb. Raisins 1 lb. Sultanas
    • 4 oz. Citron peel 4 oz. Candied peel
    • 1 tsp. Mixed spice ½ tsp. Nutmeg
    • 1 lb. Breadcrumbs ½ lb. Sifted flour
    • 1 lb. Eggs (weighed in their shells)
    • 1 wineglassful brandy
    • ½ pint of milk
    • Prepare all ingredients, well whip the eggs, add to milk, and thoroughly mix. Let stand for 12 hours in a cool place. Add brandy and put into well-greased basins, boil 8 hours or longer. Serves 20 – 28 people.

What’s on your menu?

If you’d rather not comment, not to worry there are other ways to enter and more prizes to win:

*Share my post on Facebook and you’ll be entered into a drawing on the 25th for a $150 gift card from Amazon or Barnes & Noble.  Each day you share, you’ll get an entry, for a possible 11 entries. (You must share my original post on Facebook not using the social share at the bottom of this post, otherwise there is no way to track it–sorry.) If the post is not coming up in your newsfeed, follow this link, it should be the top story.

*Like my post on Facebook Like the post and you’ll be entered into a drawing on the 25th for an entire signed series of my books. Each day you like, you’ll get an entry, for a possible 11 entries. You’ll have to like my original post on Facebook not using the social share at the bottom of this post, otherwise there is no way to track it–sorry.) If the post is not coming up in your newsfeed, follow this link, it should be the top story.

*Like me on Facebook–Find me here,http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rose-Gordon-historical-romance-author/178033968907233 and like my page. On the 25th I’ll select seven random people to receive a signed paperback from my back list, winner’s choice.

**Giveaway is opened internationally.

 For more in-depth details, please see the page at the top of the website titled 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway.
25 comments on “10th Day of Christmas: What’s on the menu???

  1. Judy DV says:

    We only have one brother near us and we seldom spend holidays together. There are only 3 of us so we either go out to eat on holidays or have a simple meal. Hubby is talking about maybe grilling some elk steaks that we have.

  2. readsalot81 says:

    Christmas Eve is our big meal of the holidays. And I kid you not, every year the meal is as follows : Roast, yorkshire pudding, a multitude of salads, and a couple of baked desserts (pies, brownies, that sort of thing). Should you make the mistake of suggesting something else to eat, your suggestion will be met with withering disdain and a semi-rude refusal. (Our family, in our trek like fashion, just deems it “Resistance is futile” – and we’ve let it go).

  3. Karen Miller says:

    It’s just the the three of us for Christmas but we still like to have the turkey dinner with all the fixing. I’m not much of a cook so I usually focus on the table making it look all festive and nice and then I man the potato since that would be hard to Mess up.

  4. Evie says:

    I think we’ll have turkey, some salads, sushi and maybe a pie or a cake.
    Thanks for this amazing giveaway and Happy Holidays!

  5. miki says:

    Christmas even we get a chicken soup then turkey with airealls and ” croquettes” dessert will be the long awaited ” buche de noel ” in ice cream
    on christmas day i will make a ” pierrade”

    thank you a lot and happy holidays!

  6. Tin says:

    We’re having roast chicken and noodles!

    Thank you for the great giveaway!

  7. Last year we went to a Chinese buffet, but this year I am insisting on a spiral ham, homemade dressing from the recipe my grandmother passed down to my mother with my own touches added in, cranberry sauce, pumpkin pie, jello cake in the shape of a Christmas tree, sweet potato casserole, homemade mashed potatoes, and green beans.

  8. Simi says:

    I think we’ll have rice, chicken, curry, sweets and cake. Happy Christmas!

  9. donettebell says:

    We always have a big Christmas lunch after Church. Being in the southern Hemisphere we have a wonderful warm day. Usually spending some of it in the pool.

    Roast lamb, pork, beef, chickens, various salads, trifle, Christmas cake, pecan nut tart and ice-cream.

    Always have left overs for a few days.

  10. Texas Book Lover says:

    We keep it simple and just have sandwiches and chips with dips for Christmas. There is already enough to clean up in the rest of the house, this way this doesn’t add to it.

  11. Lisa W says:

    We are going to my in-laws so I don’t really know what we are having either. I think she mentioned either lasagna or ham. Either way, it will be good since I don’t have to cook it :) I’m bringing the cheesecake so desert is set!

  12. I’m branching out this year and attempting a Turkey Roulade stuffed with sausage stuffing with dried cranberries and figs, then roasted brussel sprouts in a balsamic vinaigrette and a broccoli salad. Can’t wait to attempt the turkey. :)
    Happy Holidays to you.

  13. Sarah R. says:

    Christmas Eve at my parents we will be having those most traditional (at least around here) homemade tamales. My mom spent all day making them yesterday (she learned from an expert). My boys will be eating pizza. My mom also will have our usual spritz cookies, peanut brittle (the best you’ve ever tasted) and yummy pull-apart sticky buns.

    Christmas Day my husband will be making a roast with mashed potatoes and green beans, with lots of yummy gravy. He makes delicious gravy which he learned to make from his mom.

  14. Sandy says:

    Cold pizza. It’s the only thing in the fridge and Im not going to go to the grocery store now. Hope y’all have a fun and wonderful Christmas.

  15. We will have the traditional breakfast of homemade omelets with all the works made by my hubby and at night we will have ham and scalloped potatoes with sides and desert. Great thing is my hubby likes to cook for Christmas, so I get the day off from cooking. Yeah!

  16. Hmmm, I think we have chicken or ham. I don’t really pay attention to the main dish. What I care about is the broccoli cheese rice casserole! It is so easy and delicious! And all that’s in it is pretty much broccoli cheese and rice and it’s so tasty!

  17. Marcy says:

    It is the same thing every year

    Christmas Eve
    Lefsa
    Potato sausage
    Rolla Polsa
    Selta
    Rice Pudding
    Boiled Poatatoes
    Herring
    Oyster Stew

    Christmas Day
    Baked potato
    Green Bean Casserole
    Prime RIb
    Lefsa
    Rolla Pulsa
    Selta
    Julakaga
    Cardomon Bread
    Glogg

  18. Well.. I’ll make something with chicken..not sure yet and mashed potatoes, two kinds of salads, my favorite sausage-rolls (yumm) and a cake. I think that’s pretty simple but very tasty! :)

  19. Janet says:

    Well I see my beautiful daughter Sarah has given our menu already but yes our family loves homemade tamales , rice & refried beans….lots of chips and salsa. Christmas cookies , peanut brittle , Sticky Buns and cheese pizza for all the grandkids that don’t like the other stuff….and the most important …glass of wine for this mom/grandma. Merry Christmas

  20. Jess1 says:

    I going to try to roast my first prime rib roast. Usually, the main entree has been ham in the past. We’ll have some broccoli, sweet potatoes and some cookies.

  21. Leeann says:

    Well I work on Christmas day and all I need to say is “hospital food,” on Christmas eve my family gathers at my Aunt’s house and she always has the biggest display of appetizers. I provide my favorite dish which is hummus.

  22. Daniela says:

    We’ll have steak, not sure about the rest probably roasted potatoes and green beans. This year we are having “don pedros” for drinks not sure if before or after. My husband and I were introduced to this delicious drinks in south Africa back in October. They are basically milk shake with alcohol. I am not sure why they are called “don pedro” but the combinations are endless.

    The original is a vanilla milkshake with kalhua and rum, not sure about the amounts.
    I also had a chocolate one with chocolate liquor and pepermint liquor – this one is my favorite!

  23. Alanna says:

    My mom is making meat and vegetable lasagna, stuffed mushrooms, salad, and then we’ll have egg nogg. and fruit cake. We usually have the above every year on Christmas day. On the morning of Christmas day, my mom makes and extra special breakfast (hash browns, chicken bacon, cheesy scrambled eggs, toast with brushetta)

  24. Tifferz says:

    I am making a ham with mashed potatoes, mac and cheese, corn, green beans and homemade rolls.

  25. Christmas Eve is Tamales!
    Christmas Morning is brunch featuring family Christmas Muffins!

Share your thoughts--I'd love to hear them!

